Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (markopolo, ali_hire), 78 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics109,967
Posts1,306,188
Members2,820
Most Online546
Aug 30th, 2007
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 32,174
stan 32,098
Theresa 22,836
bockers 21,013
PeteP 19,109
JimO 17,908
Nigel 17,122
Jim_Clennell 16,329
Vickster 15,915
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Phase sensor error camshaft #1631430
04/04/2019 13:15
04/04/2019 13:15
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
D
denmark Offline OP
Newbie
denmark  Offline OP
Newbie
D

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
Hey guys, just changed camshaft sensor and had her up and running until warm (90degree) then a tps error pop up and if I turn engine off I get a phase sensor + tps error and she will not start before next day when cold again??

Current state.. will not start at all still the 2 same errors.. also changed crank, coolant, tps and idle sensor + thermostat frown

Any help is much appreciated, thanks.

Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: denmark] #1631433
04/04/2019 14:29
04/04/2019 14:29
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
North Macedonia
386ka Offline
Discoverer
386ka  Offline
Discoverer

Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
North Macedonia
Which engine? For a 16v, I think that for starting up two sensors are most important - the crankshaft sensor and TPS.
Can you check the voltage that the TPS is giving at idle (the middle wire) is 0.5v? Also, if you have changed the crankshaft sensor, are you sure that you've set the distance to the ignition wheel correctly?
Also, you can try starting it with the crankshaft sensor disconnected, it should start in limp mode.

Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: 386ka] #1631437
04/04/2019 15:55
04/04/2019 15:55
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
D
denmark Offline OP
Newbie
denmark  Offline OP
Newbie
D

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
Thanks mate, 20v n/a it should start up even with the TPS faulty and the camshaft sensor is used at ignition time. Was hoping it could be something else, checked wire from sensor behind engine today.

Well, gotta check the timing and last resort, engine out frown

Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: denmark] #1631439
04/04/2019 16:10
04/04/2019 16:10
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,646
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,646
Pothole City
Is that the normal 20v N/A or the VIS N/A?

Why was the cam sensor changed... old one faulty or were you just doing a cambelt change and decided to replace the sensor too? New sensor could be dodgy, especially if it's one of the very cheap "copy" replacements from ebay.

With multiple sensor errors I'd be checking engine bay grounds + the ECU connector for water damage (if a 20v NA non VIS), but may just be dodgy new sensors.

If it's a non-VIS 20v I can send you a firmware chip with the cam sensor error bypassed (just PM me your address), will allow starting 50% of the time with a failed cam sensor, might be useful for diagnosis.

BTW you don't need to take engine out to change the cam belt or sensor, can be done by moving the engine around in the bay with most of the engine mounts removed.


Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: GrahamL] #1631441
04/04/2019 16:27
04/04/2019 16:27
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
D
denmark Offline OP
Newbie
denmark  Offline OP
Newbie
D

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
Thanks for the information Graham! Will consider your offer.

Non VIS

By Ecu connector you mean inside car behind the ecu right or?

A phase sensor by STARK, did a cambelt change yes and damaged the sensor in the process 'my bad.

With the new sensor, started fine when cold and engine sounded smoothly. But not starting anymore and with the camphase error on multiecuscan.

Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: denmark] #1631442
04/04/2019 16:42
04/04/2019 16:42
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,646
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,646
Pothole City
Yes, the main ECU connector inside car. If the windscreen seal fails water can run right down the cable and settle in the ECU socket, causing all manner of weird problems. Pull out ECU and inspect the plug + socket for water damage.

Could just be dodgy sensor, if you want to try the sensor bypass hack chip to confirm then just drop me a PM with your address and I'll stick one in the post ASAP, no charge. smile

Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: GrahamL] #1631448
04/04/2019 18:10
04/04/2019 18:10
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
D
denmark Offline OP
Newbie
denmark  Offline OP
Newbie
D

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
Thanks a lot for the inputs Graham and knowledge. Will try to check ecu and timing tomorrow. Awesome forum!

Re: Phase sensor error camshaft [Re: denmark] #1631478
05/04/2019 16:06
05/04/2019 16:06
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
D
denmark Offline OP
Newbie
denmark  Offline OP
Newbie
D

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Danmark
Timing and ecu box looks on point! I have a hard time believing it's the new cam sensor!! smile


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.7 Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.007s) Memory: 0.7766 MB (Peak: 0.8466 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2019-07-17 20:24:34 UTC