Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Honza, 8198cthomas), 133 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics110,186
Posts1,308,379
Members2,872
Most Online546
Aug 30th, 2007
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 32,262
stan 32,098
Theresa 22,867
bockers 21,015
PeteP 19,219
JimO 17,908
Nigel 17,180
Jim_Clennell 16,342
Vickster 15,915
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
“Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget #1635575
17/09/2019 07:39
17/09/2019 07:39
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Hi guys,

Have the following error on my Barnacle Widget - “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage”.

As straight forward as a failing Alternator? Or any other ideas?

Battery is brand new, car is only used at the weekends and put back on trickle charge after every use. I have been limiting myself to short journeys as I don’t want to end up broken down with a dead battery.

Any pointers for identifying the potential issue before I get it booked in for a repair?

I assume a multi meter would give me the output of the alternator....? Any pointers appreciated.


[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635580
17/09/2019 09:44
17/09/2019 09:44
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,253
Lightwater, Surrey, UK
DaveG Online content
Club Member 311
DaveG  Online Content
Club Member 311
Forum is my life

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,253
Lightwater, Surrey, UK
Why was the battery replaced? It might have died due to excess voltage or insufficient voltage from the alternator, so you should check. After starting, voltage should be over 14V, dropping to 13V when running. Battery at rest should be 12.5V+ (all from memory, I stand to be corrected!) Does the oil warning light glow at all, this is an indicator of a failing alternator...


1996 Portofino 20vt & 2000 Pearl White Plus
1985½ & 2016 2017 Fiat 124 Spider + XF Sportbrake
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635583
17/09/2019 11:37
17/09/2019 11:37
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
The battery was replaced because the car was sat un-used and in the garage for a good number of months. It suffers from a drain if left for over a month without being used and in error I forgot to connect it to the trickle charge. This just killed the battery as it was so flat and would not take a charge hence the replacement.

No issues with the oil light glow (i will check that again mind).

I've tried a number of cycles on the widget (restarts and it's not clearing) so the fault is definately remaining.

Just trying to rule things out before I take it to the garage.

NB: Looks like i'm off to buy a VOlt Meter later to take a reading from the battery with the car running/off.

Will report back smile


Last edited by RusH; 17/09/2019 11:43.

[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635584
17/09/2019 12:14
17/09/2019 12:14
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Interestling I can't re-call if the Widget has a Volt option to be selected. Albeit problem is that the error covers the standard screen.


[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635585
17/09/2019 12:29
17/09/2019 12:29
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,395
highlands
jimboy Offline
Club Member 857
jimboy  Offline
Club Member 857
Forum is my job

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,395
highlands
Hi Rush, I had that very same alert some years ago, a new battery solved the problem..... smile


I'm an old git & happy with it,most of the time
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635586
17/09/2019 12:58
17/09/2019 12:58
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 78
Fleet, Hampshire
W
williamsdad Online content
Club Member 1619
williamsdad  Online Content
Club Member 1619
Reaping the fruits
W

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 78
Fleet, Hampshire
I recently bought an adapter that plugs into the cigarette lighter to run two usb's ... a nice addition to this is a voltage display which gives you a digital reading without having to hook up a volt meter :

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-1A-Fast-Charging-2-Dual-USB-Car-Charger-for-iPhone-12V-24V-Adapter-Phone-HUB-X/293100410207?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=591960778255&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649


2000 20VT Plus in Electric Blue
[imgpop]http://www.cjs.me.uk/coupe/my-coupe.jpg[/imgpop]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: jimboy] #1635589
17/09/2019 16:43
17/09/2019 16:43
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Originally Posted by jimboy
Hi Rush, I had that very same alert some years ago, a new battery solved the problem..... smile


Hmm - im not sure that will solve the issue as the battery is brand new. The error remains even when the battery is fully charged having been left for weeks on trickle charge.


[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: williamsdad] #1635590
17/09/2019 16:47
17/09/2019 16:47
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Originally Posted by williamsdad
I recently bought an adapter that plugs into the cigarette lighter to run two usb's ... a nice addition to this is a voltage display which gives you a digital reading without having to hook up a volt meter :

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-1A-Fast-Charging-2-Dual-USB-Car-Charger-for-iPhone-12V-24V-Adapter-Phone-HUB-X/293100410207?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=591960778255&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649


Interesting - thank you - may just check that out. Could be a cheaper option than the Voltmeter purchase as an interim option.

NB: Just purchased one as they actually look quite handy anyway. Could you give me the read outs you have with engine off and running from the adaptor? Handy to have a comparison on the basis the unit has a true reading smile

Last edited by RusH; 17/09/2019 17:01.

[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635595
17/09/2019 18:50
17/09/2019 18:50
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,262
Hemel in the Hempstead
barnacle Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
barnacle  Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
Forum Demigod

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,262
Hemel in the Hempstead
Damnit, I designed the widget and *I* can't remember whether it does volts or not. It does on the 16, so it probably does on the 20; you'll have to get a terminal on it and check.

But - it's possible that there is an error which has been recovered but which has not yet removed itself from the system - it can take a number of restarts before this happens. The startrek code for 20v/vt allows you to clear this manually.


[Linked Image]
Don't get no respect! [b]Coupe Fiat 1994-2000 - an owner's guide[/b] <-- clicky!
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: barnacle] #1635597
17/09/2019 18:53
17/09/2019 18:53
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,849
Auld Reekie
Edinburgh Offline
Club Board member
Edinburgh  Offline
Club Board member
I AM a Coop

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,849
Auld Reekie
Yes Neil, one of the 10 parameters is a volt reading smile


Thanks again, Photobucket.
BumbleBee under restoration...
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: barnacle] #1635598
17/09/2019 18:57
17/09/2019 18:57
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Thanks Neil.

Think I have done perhaps 10/20 restarts.

Shall I disconnect the battery and leave it to try and clear the error?

I don’t have the StarTrek option (I’m technically illiterate)


[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635617
18/09/2019 18:34
18/09/2019 18:34
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,262
Hemel in the Hempstead
barnacle Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
barnacle  Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
Forum Demigod

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,262
Hemel in the Hempstead
It's worth a try. You may need up to sixty-four starts for it to clear. Part of the issue is that the widget by design shows outstanding errors which wouldn't trigger a red light.


[Linked Image]
Don't get no respect! [b]Coupe Fiat 1994-2000 - an owner's guide[/b] <-- clicky!
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: barnacle] #1635623
18/09/2019 20:52
18/09/2019 20:52
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Interesting! Will have a play around and see what the volt meter shows.


[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635658
20/09/2019 11:14
20/09/2019 11:14
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Just done a test on the car.

12.4 with ignition on.

13.8 was the reading with the engine running.

So based on the above that looks to be inline with the tolerance range.....? Perhaps it is just the Widget storing an error code. I'll do some more cycles and hope that it clears. At least it gives me the confidence that i'm not going to be left stranded somewhere with a flat battery.

Unless anyone has another suggestion/note to the contray.

Last edited by RusH; 20/09/2019 11:19. Reason: spelling

[Linked Image]
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: RusH] #1635666
20/09/2019 20:13
20/09/2019 20:13
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,262
Hemel in the Hempstead
barnacle Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
barnacle  Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
Forum Demigod

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,262
Hemel in the Hempstead
Nothing wrong with those voltages.

Just for clarity - the widget doesn't store faults, it displays faults that the ECU has stored.


[Linked Image]
Don't get no respect! [b]Coupe Fiat 1994-2000 - an owner's guide[/b] <-- clicky!
Re: “Engine Alert - Battery Voltage” - Widget [Re: barnacle] #1635668
20/09/2019 21:29
20/09/2019 21:29
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
RusH Offline OP
Club Member 1771
RusH  Offline OP
Club Member 1771
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,664
Didcot - Oxon
Originally Posted by barnacle
Nothing wrong with those voltages.

Just for clarity - the widget doesn't store faults, it displays faults that the ECU has stored.


Thank you

Last edited by RusH; 20/09/2019 21:31.

[Linked Image]

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.9 Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 14 (0.007s) Memory: 0.8292 MB (Peak: 0.9520 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2019-10-17 08:52:58 UTC