Fiat Coupe Club UK

Center console repair

Posted By: Andrewseamaster

Center console repair - 04/07/2018 09:39

I stripped and painted with plastic kote buy it was very poor at sticking so I have removed it again. Has anyone got a fool proof solution?
Posted By: barnacle

Re: Center console repair - 04/07/2018 10:00

I found the Halford's matt black spray effective. Been on three or four years so far.
Posted By: Blueboyracer

Re: Center console repair - 04/07/2018 12:19

I used Halfords Vinyl Spray which worked great.
clicky clicky

Although wished I had sprayed it body colour now
Posted By: neil_r

Re: Center console repair - 04/07/2018 12:44

I removed the sticky layer with Aldi/Lidl nail polish remover and sprayed with a Baufix Car line rattle can from Lidl in matt black. 4 thin coats thin coats and it looks like a factory finish. It was relatively easy and I'm no expert at spraying.

Last weekend, I used Plastikote on some acryl-coated IKEA kitchen doors that our last renters had damaged and, after a little sanding, it stuck well. Two problems though - one we let dust blow into the room frown Our fault, but we did not have a good place to work. The other was that it needs to be sprayed very, very evenly to not show a slightly textured finish but can be sprayed comparatively thickly to avoid this. Need good light to see exactly what you are doing.
Posted By: jimboy

Re: Center console repair - 04/07/2018 13:02

Owners have done several finishes & it's all down to what your preferences are.

I removed the original sticky stuff with turps & acetone. More or less nail polish remover. Rub down with fine wire wool, two coats of plastic primer, rubbing between coats several coats of gloss black rubbing down between coats. Now, I was going to finish off with gloss clear coat, but no matter how I tried...orange peel... frown In the end I rubbed it down with water & very fine wet & dry, then I polished the hell out of it... cool