Fiat Coupe Club UK

Broken head or mice?

Posted By: Mags

Broken head or mice? - 12/11/2022 12:01

Hi, I’m new to the forum! I have some experience restoring old cars, and now I want a fiat coupe smile I live in Norway btw.

I’ve been searching thoroughly for an early low mileage coupe. So far two have come up.

#1 has been sitting for 9 years. Ran when parked, and was well kept until then. Cheap paint job. However the storage facility was somewhat damp, so the interior has some mildew. What is worse it that the car has been and still is inhibited by mice. Droppings and chew marks everywhere. Very bad.

#2 similar mileage and general wear. Cheap paint job. Has been sitting 5 years. Engine ran out of oil, and consequently the main and rod bearings were replaced. After the rebuild the owner found that the cam bearings were shot too, and the oil ring on piston 4 is missing a piece. So the engine still needs work or to be replaced.

How hard is it to source an engine for an early 16vT? Or a cylinder head?The 20vT engines seem easier to find, is the swap feasible?
Posted By: clanger

Re: Broken head or mice? - 13/11/2022 12:01

Neither are particularly appealing but if the price is right, based on what you describe and having suffered rodent damage on a vehicle myself, I would choose the engine rebuild.

I won't comment on the engine swap others are more qualified.
Posted By: 386ka

Re: Broken head or mice? - 13/11/2022 14:44

If the rodent damage is not extensive, then I'd opt out for that car. Make sure that the wiring is okay and there are no electrical gremlins (or rodents for that matter), and the rest would only be a cleaning job.

What I am afraid of is corrosion if the storage was damp - so if there are no corrosion marks on the underside, where the boot arches meet the boot floor, also behind the pininfarina side-badges, then you're probably fine.