Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
4 registered members (Vinnytgm, Jason_Clark91, Dan, 1 invisible), 87 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics110,123
Posts1,307,709
Members2,857
Most Online546
Aug 30th, 2007
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 32,240
stan 32,098
Theresa 22,857
bockers 21,015
PeteP 19,194
JimO 17,908
Nigel 17,171
Jim_Clennell 16,338
Vickster 15,915
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Radio Wiring #1630739
16/03/2019 13:54
16/03/2019 13:54
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Scotland
rowl Offline OP
lub Member 1201
rowl  Offline OP
lub Member 1201
Discoverer

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Scotland
Hi all -- I have a question about the Coupe's wiring to the ISO connectors for the radio. It is standard? Nothing in the ICE FAQ suggests otherwise, but...

If so, why does the following adapter exist?

FIAT BARCHETTA BRAVA BRAVO COUPE ISO HEAD UNIT WIRING HARNESS ADAPTOR LEAD

Backstory: I have an aftermarket (Clarion) radio which seems to be draining my battery. I presume that the ignition-controlled vs direct-from-battery 12V pins are mismatched between the radio and the loom, and that is why adapters such as the above exist? Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Many thanks! smile

Last edited by rowl; 16/03/2019 14:04.
Re: Radio Wiring [Re: rowl] #1630740
16/03/2019 14:00
16/03/2019 14:00
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Scotland
rowl Offline OP
lub Member 1201
rowl  Offline OP
lub Member 1201
Discoverer

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Scotland
OK -- I just had a re-read of the FAQ, and there was "something to suggest otherwise" about the standard ISO connectors (my apologies!) I can only assume the aftermarket ISO-to-ISO converters must be doing the permanent-to-switched conversion described there. If anyone has any experience of them, would be great to know, it seems like the "path of least resistance" to solve my problem!

Quote

The wiring is via two DIN standard sockets.

One caries the power and electric Aerial feed (used to power the aerial booster)
The other carries all the speaker wires.

There are two power wires. One permanent (to maintain the Head unit memory) and another which on most cars is switched but in standard form on the coupe this is permanent too.

A popular mod is to change the second feed to be switched and this prevents accidentally leaving the radio on and flattening the battery.

Re: Radio Wiring [Re: rowl] #1630741
16/03/2019 14:53
16/03/2019 14:53
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
North Macedonia
386ka Offline
Discoverer
386ka  Offline
Discoverer

Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
North Macedonia
If your radio works without ignition - great, that's how the Coupe is wired from the factory. This does lead to battery drainage on newer radios, since they assume that the one of the power wires (red) is a switched, and the other (yellow) is providing constant power for memory.

Pic for reference: https://www.autofitkit.com/ebay/stereo-wiring-harness-adaptor.jpg

You don't need a new ISO connector. What you do need to do is to cut the red wire, and wire it to a switchable (ignition-on) power supply. There is one way to solve this in the how to list, but personally, I would either run a direct wire from the battery, put a fuse on it, run it inside via relay to the radio. The relay can be switched on/off by using the cigarette lighter power, or some other switched live.
You can also use the existing cable coming to the radio, just using a relay, with signal from cigarette lighter or other live to switch it on/off.
This is to prevent frying the cables due to usage of both radio and cigarette lighter at the same time, since IDK what the cable gauge or fuse is on it.

Last edited by 386ka; 16/03/2019 14:55.
Re: Radio Wiring [Re: 386ka] #1630742
16/03/2019 15:28
16/03/2019 15:28
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Scotland
rowl Offline OP
lub Member 1201
rowl  Offline OP
lub Member 1201
Discoverer

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
Scotland
Many thanks @386ka smile That makes a lot of sense.

It sounds like a relay to switch the red wire according to cigarette lighter power is the way to go...

Re: Radio Wiring [Re: rowl] #1630743
16/03/2019 16:24
16/03/2019 16:24
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
North Macedonia
386ka Offline
Discoverer
386ka  Offline
Discoverer

Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 39
North Macedonia
Glad to have been of any help. Btw, if you don't feel like messing with the electric installation, you can try removing the head unit when the car is turned off as an interim solution. In my case, with the HU removed, the radio draws only a small current for the memory.


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.8 Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.008s) Memory: 0.7663 MB (Peak: 0.8171 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2019-09-15 14:26:16 UTC