Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Burty, 386ka), 49 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums65
Topics112,289
Posts1,327,562
Members1,972
Most Online731
Jan 14th, 2020
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 33,037
stan 32,112
Theresa 23,160
bockers 21,053
PeteP 20,642
JimO 17,917
Nigel 17,336
Jim_Clennell 16,593
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Gtec1 or 2 #1655393
23/01/2022 23:43
23/01/2022 23:43
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
G
gianniteamturbo Offline OP
Newbie
gianniteamturbo  Offline OP
Newbie
G

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
I've owned my coupe since 2003 and not long after that I purchased a Gtec2 chip off grahamL on here. Did I make a mistake as my car is completely standard other than an k&n air filter? I've always had a blitz dual solenoid boost controller to monitor the boost but reading some other threads they mention the gtec2 chip is for heavily modified coups.

Also my boost controller is on the blink and either need to remove it which I assume will allow the chip to control the boost or do I install another boost controller.
It's been over 15 years since I did these mods and to be perfectly honest I'm way out of touch with it and could do with just some general guidance.

Cheers
Gianni

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: gianniteamturbo] #1655402
24/01/2022 10:55
24/01/2022 10:55
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,232
Sandhurst
Begbie Offline
Ex El Presidente
Begbie  Offline
Ex El Presidente
I AM a Coop

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,232
Sandhurst
From what I remember, a Gtec 1 is for pretty much for standard cars (although having the K&N panel won't matter), whereas the Gtec 2 was for more modified cars (FMIC, exhaust etc..) and seem to think it would require super unleaded to run as the ignition advance was a little more agressive


Originally Posted by Jonny - After being taken out at Spa
Your car is Usain Bolt with wellies
Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: Begbie] #1655519
31/01/2022 16:40
31/01/2022 16:40
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,548
Glasgow,Near Florence..If only...
paul Offline
My life on the forum
paul  Offline
My life on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,548
Glasgow,Near Florence..If only...


Originally Posted by Begbie
From what I remember, a Gtec 1 is for pretty much for standard cars (although having the K&N panel won't matter), whereas the Gtec 2 was for more modified cars (FMIC, exhaust etc..) and seem to think it would require super unleaded to run as the ignition advance was a little more agressive



yup Begbie is spot on


was Paul S,now just paul...Member since Oct 2000,Coupe may be FATALLY injured - :(oh no it's not smile
Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: gianniteamturbo] #1656124
04/03/2022 09:45
04/03/2022 09:45
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,431
Kent
Submariner Offline
My job on the forum
Submariner  Offline
My job on the forum

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,431
Kent
Gtec 1 in mine for the last 17 years, all good I have had no issues, EBV bypassed, recirc valve and gauge installed; probably accelerates clutch wear due to it's seemingly unadulterated delivery of boost.

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: gianniteamturbo] #1656131
04/03/2022 12:26
04/03/2022 12:26
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,924
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,924
Pothole City
I know a few people have run Gtec2 with standard intercooler for years without a problem, but I wouldn't recommend it, especially if you're in a hot climate.

If you're running a boost controller as well then limit boost to no more than 1.2 bar sustained, definitely not any more than that with a Gtec2 on standard intercooler.

If it's been running OK like that for years then I'd just replaced the failed boost controller and run the same boost level as before.

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: gianniteamturbo] #1656899
10/04/2022 18:34
10/04/2022 18:34
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,924
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,924
Pothole City
I've re-listed the Gtec chips on Ebay now, they've been gone from there since the start of the year, just in case anyone was looking.

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: GrahamL] #1657563
14/05/2022 15:44
14/05/2022 15:44
Joined: May 2022
Posts: 2
Malaysia
D
Den Offline
Newbie
Den  Offline
Newbie
D

Joined: May 2022
Posts: 2
Malaysia
Hi, may I have the link for the gtec1 chip? I would like to purchase it

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: GrahamL] #1657570
14/05/2022 18:21
14/05/2022 18:21
Joined: May 2022
Posts: 2
Malaysia
D
Den Offline
Newbie
Den  Offline
Newbie
D

Joined: May 2022
Posts: 2
Malaysia
Originally Posted by GrahamL
I've re-listed the Gtec chips on Ebay now, they've been gone from there since the start of the year, just in case anyone was looking.


May I have the link to purchase the gtec1 chips? Tq

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: gianniteamturbo] #1657572
14/05/2022 21:28
14/05/2022 21:28
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 588
born in Italy I live in German...
carmine Offline
club member 1915
carmine  Offline
club member 1915
Enjoying the ride

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 588
born in Italy I live in German...

Re: Gtec1 or 2 [Re: gianniteamturbo] #1657602
16/05/2022 16:45
16/05/2022 16:45
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,924
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,924
Pothole City


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.33 Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.012s) Memory: 0.7848 MB (Peak: 0.8828 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2022-05-18 18:45:04 UTC