Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 188 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums69
Topics113,643
Posts1,341,462
Members1,820
Most Online731
Jan 14th, 2020
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 33,568
stan 32,122
Theresa 23,306
PeteP 21,524
bockers 21,071
JimO 17,917
Nigel 17,367
Edinburgh 16,855
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
halfway through speakers install, need help! #151812
19/07/2006 02:49
19/07/2006 02:49

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



its a twofold problem really:

the front-right woofer has the same feed as the front left tweeter!
similarly with FLeft woofer and FRight tweeter ! im thinking thats not right?


my other problem is i need to wire in the new crossovers for the components but theres just 2 feeds (4 wires) for all 4 front speakers, and the loom dissapears up behind the dash where i assume at some point each feed is spliced into 4 wires. How am i supposed to get to the wire to fit the crossovers?

bit stuck, wasnt really what i expected to fine in there.

any help appreciated? im sweating my arse off with my car in a mess and not much daylight left

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151813
19/07/2006 02:56
19/07/2006 02:56

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



so im thinking;

take the left woofer feed to the left crossover and wire in a new tweeter output feed and ignore the old feed, just tape the wires off?

that will work? wont it

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151814
19/07/2006 03:14
19/07/2006 03:14

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



yep thats what i'll do (tommorrow) need a beer now

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151815
19/07/2006 04:15
19/07/2006 04:15
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
Re-wire is the answer for the fronts. The leads are split somewhere in the depths of the dashboard so don't use them. The crossovers can be stored in the dash ends behind the panel.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151816
19/07/2006 15:12
19/07/2006 15:12

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



it very much appears to be the original install, so why on earth would the left and right feeds be mixed up in this way?
I think it could well be deliberate but i cant fathom why?

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151817
19/07/2006 16:05
19/07/2006 16:05
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
You sound surprised that an italian car has dodgy wiring Just be thankful that they are there at all

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151818
19/07/2006 16:26
19/07/2006 16:26
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,564
Lincolnshire
bridges Offline
My life on the forum
bridges  Offline
My life on the forum

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,564
Lincolnshire
Dan, rewire. The original loom is not brilliant, Is far far far easier to start again. Use decent wire this way you also know the install is 100% right.




Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151819
19/07/2006 16:56
19/07/2006 16:56

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



thing is about using decent wire, the terminal wiring on the alpine speakers i have is about 1mm thick, so i could use the best oxygen free massive cable in the world and it would still be bottlenecked by the feeble last connections on the speakers. Short of dismantling the speakers there not much can be done about this i wouldnt think?

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151820
20/07/2006 01:18
20/07/2006 01:18
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,564
Lincolnshire
bridges Offline
My life on the forum
bridges  Offline
My life on the forum

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,564
Lincolnshire
True mate.. However you always then have a decent wire loom in place that you know is not damaged or decaying. Would not go silly on speaker wire just get a semi decent wire.




Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151821
24/07/2006 16:15
24/07/2006 16:15

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



Ok all done.

tbh im disappointed with the sound. Its very clear and bright, and the timing is much better, no bass overhang at all... in fact, hardly any bass

its all quite mid/high range. What id call a bit of a boxy sound.

I used quite a bit of sound deadening in the doors, and against the body 'skin' in the rear quarters.

Theres just no low bass, at a guess id say im getting maybe 80-100hz at lowest.

Ive used alpines all round. 6x9 in the rear and components in the front, 6.5".

I know speakers need to loosen up but ive put a few hours through and theres no real improvement.

Bummer really. Its not awful, buts its not great and took a lot of time to install :/

I know i could get a sub, but really id expect this current setup to produce plenty of clout for my tastes, ive never needed a sub in the past to be satisfied.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151822
24/07/2006 16:18
24/07/2006 16:18

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



oh yeh, how do i access EQ on the standard clarion unit? i press the button but nothing happens? theres always a chance someone has ditched a lot of bass due to the standard speakers being quite plodding and woolly.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151823
24/07/2006 18:48
24/07/2006 18:48

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



set the base to +1 and the treble to+2 and switch the loudness on, clarian units are not realy known for sq but should have some base

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151824
24/07/2006 20:08
24/07/2006 20:08

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



ok how do i switch the loudness on ?

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151825
25/07/2006 01:45
25/07/2006 01:45
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,564
Lincolnshire
bridges Offline
My life on the forum
bridges  Offline
My life on the forum

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,564
Lincolnshire
Are you sure you have the speaker polarity right on all the speakers? This will cancel the bass.

Also, Do you have aircon? This will sound really dumb but if you have your windows down as it is really hot then bass will be lost..




Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151826
25/07/2006 03:51
25/07/2006 03:51
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
I dound the stock Clarion unit to have diddly squat in the way of bass. But even with a better HU and a sub I still find the coop lacking in very low bass

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151827
25/07/2006 20:00
25/07/2006 20:00

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



polarity is correct, windows up for testing
bockers - thats a shame :/ maybe i;ll just have to live with it then, its not bad...

does anyone know how to access the EQ on the clarion? theres a button for it but it doesnt appear to do anything when pressed or held a few secs.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151828
25/07/2006 20:05
25/07/2006 20:05
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
The EQ button onle works if you have the add-on eq unit, which I have never seen and doubt Fiat ever stocked them. They are a din sized unit so there is nowhere to put it anyway.

John

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151829
25/07/2006 21:30
25/07/2006 21:30

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



ah, well thats ok, i was more concerned someone had it setup strangely and then broken it so it couldnt be altered.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151830
25/07/2006 22:03
25/07/2006 22:03

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



If you want bass try this,

http://www.fiatcoupeclub.org/forum/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=112811&an=0&page=1#Post112
I hope this link works otherwise you should be able to hunt it down.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151831
26/07/2006 15:24
26/07/2006 15:24

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



stealth sub looks like a great project, may well do that, dont suppose any of the wiring is already in place ?

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151832
26/07/2006 19:08
26/07/2006 19:08
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
Wiring in place You muse be joking

The coupe is however very easy to re-wire.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151833
26/07/2006 20:09
26/07/2006 20:09

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



ive already had the seats out when i replaced the standard speakers.. was hoping to avoid doing it again! the car is a bit of a sahara desert simulator in this weather

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151834
26/07/2006 20:12
26/07/2006 20:12
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
Quote:

ive already had the seats out when i replaced the standard speakers.. was hoping to avoid doing it again! the car is a bit of a sahara desert simulator in this weather




Oh yes don't I know, even vacuming the car when my new matts arrived was hell

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151835
27/07/2006 05:35
27/07/2006 05:35

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



lol bock your a funny guy

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151836
27/07/2006 15:34
27/07/2006 15:34

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



Solution - i fitted spacers (~1 inch) and removed the foam cone that sits behind the woofer in the door card.

Bass is much more extended now, its not terribly deep but its a much fuller sound.

now i need decent grilles as the standard ones restrict the woofers travel, and the ones that come with the alpines are pretty ugly (would look fine in a scoob ) and dont suit the coop at all.

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151837
27/07/2006 15:41
27/07/2006 15:41
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
Dan
What did you make the spacers from and did you angle the speakers up? I have thought about making some MDF spacers specifically for the Coupe with an angle too but have yet to buy a router

Re: halfway through speakers install, need help! #151838
27/07/2006 17:43
27/07/2006 17:43

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



i used the spacers from the alpine speaker kit, i had to chop them up a bit and drill new holes in the door.

im sure you'd get away with using a jigsaw and a rough file to make a spacer, doesnt have to be pretty.

I didnt think of angling them up tbh.

still cant find any nice grilles, might be stuck with the alpine ones, they look a bit like giant monster teeth to me


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.33 Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 13 (0.006s) Memory: 0.8427 MB (Peak: 1.0096 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2024-05-21 01:32:14 UTC