Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Nigel, french_coupe), 39 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics110,056
Posts1,307,116
Members2,844
Most Online546
Aug 30th, 2007
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 32,218
stan 32,098
Theresa 22,849
bockers 21,013
PeteP 19,170
JimO 17,908
Nigel 17,155
Jim_Clennell 16,332
Vickster 15,915
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Broadband - Options #1632103
30/04/2019 15:12
30/04/2019 15:12
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,277
Maidenhead
elder81 Offline OP
Competition Level
elder81  Offline OP
Competition Level

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,277
Maidenhead
My woeful Plusnet contract is finally coming to an end and I need to get something a little quicker.

There are lots of reviews online, but never sure if they are real so thought I would ask here.

What have you got and what do you like/hate about it?

I need at least 50mb and that is about it.

Currently enjoy freeview (No sky or Virgin) so broadband only is fine and we don't use our landlie at all.

Fire away smile


Life is like a box of chocolates, you always know what your gonna get! Thats why you buy them!
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632109
30/04/2019 16:11
30/04/2019 16:11
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,952
west bromwich
coupedummy Offline
Je suis un Coupé
coupedummy  Offline
Je suis un Coupé

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,952
west bromwich
http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Devices/Huawei/E5573bs-322_4G_Mobile_Wi-Fi?memory=0&colour=White

Unlimited 4g Internet at £22 a month and no phone line to worry about or pay for. Only issue is signal in your area , may nee to try first.

I'm on sky and have been great , have had issues but really all because of woeful open reach. Speed is often line dependant so need to be considered with any asdl broadband unfortunately hence the above suggestion.


Virgin from my experience and family's, lying and deceitful company which would be better off without.


Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632112
30/04/2019 17:57
30/04/2019 17:57
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,690
Cambridge & Cotswolds
M
MeanRedSpider Offline
Je suis un Coupé
MeanRedSpider  Offline
Je suis un Coupé
M

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,690
Cambridge & Cotswolds
Yup - Virgin are the spawn of the Devil and worship at the altar of Onan. I’ve never come across a company that are so focused on themselves at the explicit expense of their customers.

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632118
30/04/2019 19:45
30/04/2019 19:45
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,218
Hemel in the Hempstead
barnacle Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
barnacle  Offline
Club Member 18 - ex-Minister without Portfolio
Forum Demigod

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 32,218
Hemel in the Hempstead
And yet... I've not had an issue in twenty years with Virgin. Which is probably just as well, since anything coming via a BT co-host (whatever they call themselves this year) is coming along five miles of 1970s telephone wiring which stops working whenever it rains, and only managed half a megabit when it worked.

While the Virgin cabinet is at the end of my garden. Not cheap, though.


[Linked Image]
Don't get no respect! [b]Coupe Fiat 1994-2000 - an owner's guide[/b] <-- clicky!
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: barnacle] #1632121
30/04/2019 20:18
30/04/2019 20:18
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,690
Cambridge & Cotswolds
M
MeanRedSpider Offline
Je suis un Coupé
MeanRedSpider  Offline
Je suis un Coupé
M

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,690
Cambridge & Cotswolds
Originally Posted by barnacle
And yet... I've not had an issue in twenty years with Virgin.


And that’s where you are lucky - because when there’s a problem, it all goes to rats!

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632130
30/04/2019 21:10
30/04/2019 21:10
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,952
west bromwich
coupedummy Offline
Je suis un Coupé
coupedummy  Offline
Je suis un Coupé

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,952
west bromwich
Completely agree with MRS... No responsibility taken when issues arises and no inclination to resolve stating i must keep paying them. Brother had just signed up with virgin, 2 months later no install and continue asking for payment despite no service.


Re: Broadband - Options [Re: coupedummy] #1632150
01/05/2019 09:30
01/05/2019 09:30
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,934
Sunny Darlo
Wishy Offline
Forum is my life
Wishy  Offline
Forum is my life

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,934
Sunny Darlo
My narrowband spawn of the devil vote would be torn between BT/EE and I think there's could be a bit of a postcode lottery with regards to Virgin cable service. I had Virgin cable for the best part of 20 years (until recently moving to a new estate that they don't serve) and never had any serious problems. The odd technical glitch was dealt with quickly and efficiently, far better than anything I've experienced with ADSL based services (and the liars that provide them, mentioned at the start). Saying that however, I've also read that in areas where Virgin's network has issues it can be a pretty awful experience. Personally I can't wait to get back on cable (not likely here) or move house to a cable covered area.

From my experience of ADSL based services (looking after work, albeit a few years ago now, and the last 4 years in this house), I don't see it as a fit for purpose technology. My cable connection over the years has always been noticeably stable in comparison the very variable ADSL. I also see outage issues getting worse with the splitting of the infrastructure and provider as there is a huge opportunity to pass the buck between provider and Openreach. I've already had that happen here once and being passed between two companies (neither of whom give a monkeys and only one of whom you can actually speak to) is pretty painful especially given that I rely on the service to work from home 3 days per week. At least Virgin own both the customer service and infrastructure aspects (for better of for worse).

Last edited by Wishy; 01/05/2019 14:03. Reason: Typo

Up yours Photobucket.
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632156
01/05/2019 12:18
01/05/2019 12:18
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 17,155
Staffordshire
Nigel Online sleepy
Club Member 123
Nigel  Online Sleepy
Club Member 123
Forum veteran

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 17,155
Staffordshire
Another vote for Virgin - I've been with them since it was NTL and the only real issue I've had was weak wi-fi performance from their router (partly caused by it being installed in an office extension, which is outside the main shell of the house). I switched it to modem mode and put a Netgear wi-fi router in the middle of the house and it has been fine since. Solid 100Mb/s download speeds, although the upload speeds are low.


[Linked Image]
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: MeanRedSpider] #1632163
01/05/2019 20:44
01/05/2019 20:44
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 693
State of Essex .
R
robcoupe20vt Offline
Enjoying the ride
robcoupe20vt  Offline
Enjoying the ride
R

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 693
State of Essex .
Originally Posted by MeanRedSpider
Yup - Virgin are the spawn of the Devil and worship at the altar of Onan. I’ve never come across a company that are so focused on themselves at the explicit expense of their customers.

Second that awfull company to deal with


Fiat 20VT
Fiat 16vt
Fiat 130TC
Fiat 131 sport
Kawasaki ZX6R G2
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632166
01/05/2019 21:07
01/05/2019 21:07
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
SJ2004 Offline
Newbie
SJ2004  Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
I am lucky to have 80 download, 20 upload - with BT - Full FTTP connection - paying £26 per month including line rental. Top speed package available is 300 download but I no way do I need that. And yes I know its BT - but they have been reliable - plus with a FTTP connection you get to speak to a British callcentre (FTTC connection customers have their callcentre calls routed to overseas call centres).

[image]https://scontent.flhr2-1.fna.fbcdn....91d3c144df306c9c0858ac8f&oe=5D7769D5[/image]

Attached Files
Image1.jpg (130 downloads)
Last edited by SJ2004; 01/05/2019 21:17. Reason: add graphic
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632224
04/05/2019 07:33
04/05/2019 07:33
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 894
Kent, South East
Cooperman Offline
Club member 215
Cooperman  Offline
Club member 215
Enjoying the ride

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 894
Kent, South East
Another Virgin user for over 20 years and no issues or disputes, always found them willing to haggle as well.


Re: Broadband - Options [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1632274
05/05/2019 17:29
05/05/2019 17:29
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,196
england
C
came2dance Online tongue
I AM a Coop
came2dance  Online Tongue
I AM a Coop
C

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,196
england
Originally Posted by robcoupe20vt
Originally Posted by MeanRedSpider
Yup - Virgin are the spawn of the Devil and worship at the altar of Onan. I’ve never come across a company that are so focused on themselves at the explicit expense of their customers.

Second that awful company to deal with

Not been on here for ages so firstly hello to y’all. Ironic that I come in and find this post. Be been with Virgin a long time -30 years or so I reckon. They’ve been good until you need something then they are the pits! I am very soon going to bin them. That’s TV, landline, internet and two mobile accounts. They have the worst customer service in the world. They sent me a mail shot inviting me to upgrade my
Phone early. Good deal an an I phone too so I thought “go on then” took about 30 minutes on the phone before they said right your order is in but it’s on hold. Someone will call you tomorrow to complete the order. Long story short, they never did. After several calls over
Several days they told me the order had been cancelled. No explanation. I was fuming and was going to cancel when they sent me another mail shot with an invite to upgrade early. I went through exactly the same process except this time it lasted two weeks and involved numerous lengthy phone calls. I. Mean like maybe 6 hours speaking to different pestle all with very strong Indian accents and a habit of asking a question then starting to speak again as you started to answer. Turned out there is ahold on my account a black flag against it is what one guy said. One of them even sis I think there has been arrears on the account! I gave him what for, ive been a customer for more than 20 ya Es and pay by direct debit there have never been arrears! I’ve even Been into the local store. They can see me conversation notes on their computer but cannot see whey my account is blocked. They face me a link to a complaints email address and I’ve sent a complaint and requested a copy of all the data they hold for me. That was over a week ago and they have not even acknowledged receipt of the email yet. I’m just waiting for a response then I intend to cancel everything and get one of the Three internet hubs that someone refers to above. Virgin - spawn of the devil is right. Don’t go there


www.chrisdoyle-photography.co.uk

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632295
06/05/2019 19:42
06/05/2019 19:42
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,680
Harpenden
S
sugerbear Offline
Je suis un Coupé
sugerbear  Offline
Je suis un Coupé
S

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,680
Harpenden
I have been using the BT business hub (6a) and an alternative (google) DNS. Everything feels quicker and there are fewer hangs than using the older plusnet and bt hubs.

You can buy the business hubs in flea bay for about £20


How to make a startrek widget cable >> http://tinyurl.com/dyje6fy
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632424
10/05/2019 20:18
10/05/2019 20:18
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 516
Sunny Ayrshire
ScouseCoupe Offline
Club member 1433
ScouseCoupe  Offline
Club member 1433
Enjoying the ride

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 516
Sunny Ayrshire
Been with Sky for 12 years. Previous NTL. Using Sky Fibre and averaging 55mb/s down load speed and 30mb/s upload speed on £25 a month unlimited.




Last edited by ScouseCoupe; 10/05/2019 20:21. Reason: Autospell

1999 Speed Red 20VT ( Standard & Stock )
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632437
11/05/2019 11:16
11/05/2019 11:16
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 282
Kidderminster
kev_megadon Offline
Making a profit
kev_megadon  Offline
Making a profit

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 282
Kidderminster
Guess it must be luck of the draw with Virgin because im another one who gives them my vote. Been with them about 15 years and never had a problem. When I moved house THEY pointed out that my equipment was a little old and upgraded/replaced it all free of charge.

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632449
11/05/2019 19:01
11/05/2019 19:01
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,690
Cambridge & Cotswolds
M
MeanRedSpider Offline
Je suis un Coupé
MeanRedSpider  Offline
Je suis un Coupé
M

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,690
Cambridge & Cotswolds
I think there’s a few lucky (and long term) Virgin customers on here.

They score 0.8 ex 10 on Trustpilot (as Virgin) - various Virgin Media companies score as low as 0.5

https://uk.trustpilot.com/review/www.virgin.com

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: MeanRedSpider] #1632491
13/05/2019 11:13
13/05/2019 11:13
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,468
J
JKD Offline
Forum is my job
JKD  Offline
Forum is my job
J

Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,468
I know companies offer ultra mega super hyper turbo lightening fast speeds, but what is a realistic download speed one can expect when connected to wifi? Half of the advertised speed? A third?

Assuming you just put your smartphone right next to the router, (as opposed to standing outside, at the end of the end of the garden, with several closed doors and walls in between) what figures would you expect to see?

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: MeanRedSpider] #1632493
13/05/2019 14:19
13/05/2019 14:19
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,876
SW London
suba Offline
Je suis un Coupé
suba  Offline
Je suis un Coupé

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,876
SW London
I've been with Virgin since they took over from telewest. I've had 3 complete outages in the last month, and very iffy performance outside of that. Even had their support chaps telling me service was working because I could access a webpage on my phone, but had upload speed of 0.2mb. They've been really poor at sorting it all out.

they're online service portal has only once owned up to their being a service outage - they clearly have a problem they've been trying to to own up to.

it's prompted me to look at what I'm actually getting from a 20MB contract - the answer is anything from 5MB to 30MB+ download speed....and upload similarly varies. There is almost no difference if I'm using a cable of wi-fi.


Rotary fun - 370 bhp per ton. GT30's are small you know?!??!?!?!
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: elder81] #1632522
15/05/2019 00:11
15/05/2019 00:11
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,468
J
JKD Offline
Forum is my job
JKD  Offline
Forum is my job
J

Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,468
Because actual broadband performance can vary so much from area to area, I suppose one way to find out how (at the very least, some) broadband providers are doing in your area, would be to perhaps ask the neighbours? confused

Re: Broadband - Options [Re: JKD] #1632535
16/05/2019 09:57
16/05/2019 09:57
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,876
SW London
suba Offline
Je suis un Coupé
suba  Offline
Je suis un Coupé

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,876
SW London
Tested mine yesterday evening - 70MB down, 2MB up...... really varies a great deal from minute to minute.


Rotary fun - 370 bhp per ton. GT30's are small you know?!??!?!?!
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: JKD] #1632537
16/05/2019 11:10
16/05/2019 11:10
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,934
Sunny Darlo
Wishy Offline
Forum is my life
Wishy  Offline
Forum is my life

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,934
Sunny Darlo
Originally Posted by JKD
Because actual broadband performance can vary so much from area to area, I suppose one way to find out how (at the very least, some) broadband providers are doing in your area, would be to perhaps ask the neighbours? confused


This is a very good idea which I'd never thought of doing before (previous moves have always been to somewhere with solid cable so had never been an issue) especially as we are house hunting in rural areas at the moment.

If anyone would like laugh at my expense then I've just tested ours and got 1.96Mbps down and 0.39Mbps up. I think I'd have to go back 15 years to when I last a connection of that speed with Comcast/NTL/Virgin.


Up yours Photobucket.
Re: Broadband - Options [Re: Wishy] #1632550
16/05/2019 15:59
16/05/2019 15:59
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,756
Auld Reekie
Edinburgh Offline
Club Board member
Edinburgh  Offline
Club Board member
I AM a Coop

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,756
Auld Reekie
If it makes you feel any better I was only getting an absolute max of 6.8 upload in Edinburgh until 6 months ago when I forked out another few quid for about 25-30...


[Linked Image]

So there, Photobucket...

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.8 Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.008s) Memory: 0.8605 MB (Peak: 1.0371 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2019-08-23 15:11:13 UTC