Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 96 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics113,361
Posts1,338,471
Members1,871
Most Online731
Jan 14th, 2020
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 33,459
stan 32,122
Theresa 23,268
PeteP 21,298
bockers 21,069
JimO 17,917
Nigel 17,358
Jim_Clennell 16,603
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Gtec 1 fitted #1657497
10/05/2022 14:53
10/05/2022 14:53
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 776
State of Essex .
robcoupe20vt Offline OP
Enjoying the ride
robcoupe20vt  Offline OP
Enjoying the ride

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 776
State of Essex .
Came in the post today fitted it in 10 minutes .I hesitated from buying on as i don't want a turbo car 20VT with on and off power delivery . My 16 VT is a bit laggy I am impressed with it . The car seems to have more low down get up and go . I have a boost gauge fitted and just put a new clutch in the car . Only driven the car up and down the road so far . Well worth the money .


Fiat 20VT
Fiat 16vt
Fiat 130TC
Fiat 131 sport
Kawasaki ZX6RP7F Kawasaki GPZ550 Kawasaki ZX7R P2
Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1657953
01/06/2022 12:17
01/06/2022 12:17
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 16,844
FCSS 01684 593187
Countrycruising Offline
Club Rep Europe, member 914
Countrycruising  Offline
Club Rep Europe, member 914
Forum veteran

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 16,844
FCSS 01684 593187
Gtech just takes the boost limiter off 1st and 2nd gear which is why you're feeling like it's got more get up and go, fine in the dry but gets a little too lively in the wet for my liking.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: Countrycruising] #1657964
01/06/2022 17:26
01/06/2022 17:26
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
Originally Posted by Countrycruising
Gtech just takes the boost limiter off 1st and 2nd gear


It doesn't "just" remove the boost limiter in 1st and 2nd gear. It increases boost in all gears and also modifies the overboost, fuelling and ignition timing maps.

Almost every coupe tuning chip removes the boost limiter , as does using a manual bleed valve or (almost) any electronic boost controller. So if you have a particular desire to be able to floor it in 1st and 2nd without spinning the wheels in the wet then you'll need to be running with no performance mods at all and also with some incredibly good tyres.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1657977
02/06/2022 09:13
02/06/2022 09:13
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 16,844
FCSS 01684 593187
Countrycruising Offline
Club Rep Europe, member 914
Countrycruising  Offline
Club Rep Europe, member 914
Forum veteran

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 16,844
FCSS 01684 593187
I stand corrected wink

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1664743
19/04/2023 10:19
19/04/2023 10:19
Joined: Feb 2023
Posts: 5
Porthcawl, Wales, UK
R
Rattz Offline
Club member 2075
Rattz  Offline
Club member 2075
Newbie
R

Joined: Feb 2023
Posts: 5
Porthcawl, Wales, UK
Hi GrahamL,

Do you have any spare and how do I get in contact? I can't private message you on the forum.

Sorry to hijack the thread.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1664744
19/04/2023 10:33
19/04/2023 10:33
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,245
Auld Reekie
Edinburgh Offline
Club President, member225
Edinburgh  Offline
Club President, member225
Forum veteran

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,245
Auld Reekie
Ratz, you will be able to send PM's after you've made a couple of posts.


BumbleBee back:)
Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1664745
19/04/2023 11:03
19/04/2023 11:03
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 283
Free State of Jones
clanger Offline
Making a profit
clanger  Offline
Making a profit

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 283
Free State of Jones
Search on the bay for Gtec and look for the seller 'Traumax' it's Graeme.


E85
Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1664750
19/04/2023 11:40
19/04/2023 11:40
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 887
born in Italy I live in German...
carmine Offline
club member 1915
carmine  Offline
club member 1915
Enjoying the ride

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 887
born in Italy I live in German...
https://www.ebay.de/itm/11533658206...r=&widget_ver=artemis&media=COPY
Originally Posted by Edinburgh
Ratz, you will be able to send PM's after you've made a couple of posts.



you can contact him here if he still has a Gtec 1

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1664752
19/04/2023 13:14
19/04/2023 13:14
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 887
born in Italy I live in German...
carmine Offline
club member 1915
carmine  Offline
club member 1915
Enjoying the ride

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 887
born in Italy I live in German...
Edinburgh sorry,
i didn't want you to appear on what i have but i don't know what i selected. Excuse me

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1664755
19/04/2023 14:58
19/04/2023 14:58
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,245
Auld Reekie
Edinburgh Offline
Club President, member225
Edinburgh  Offline
Club President, member225
Forum veteran

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,245
Auld Reekie
Banned!


wink


BumbleBee back:)
Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: Rattz] #1664756
19/04/2023 15:12
19/04/2023 15:12
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
Originally Posted by Rattz
Hi GrahamL,

Do you have any spare and how do I get in contact? I can't private message you on the forum.

Sorry to hijack the thread.


I'll send you a PM, maybe you can reply to that?

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1666278
09/07/2023 08:04
09/07/2023 08:04
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
Hi my friend.. i wanna ask u something about gtec chips.. can u write me from whatsapp please? +905334600560 , thanks

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: Cagkan20vturbo] #1666284
09/07/2023 09:55
09/07/2023 09:55
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
Originally Posted by Cagkan20vturbo
Hi my friend.. i wanna ask u something about gtec chips.. can u write me from whatsapp please?


I don't have a smartphone and even if I did I wouldn't be installing any social media related stuff on it. smile

I'll drop you a PM on here.

<edit> Apparently I can't PM you it says you're over your limit, maybe you can try sending me a PM?

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1666286
09/07/2023 10:04
09/07/2023 10:04
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,245
Auld Reekie
Edinburgh Offline
Club President, member225
Edinburgh  Offline
Club President, member225
Forum veteran

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,245
Auld Reekie
Originally Posted by GrahamL


<edit> Apparently I can't PM you it says you're over your limit, maybe you can try sending me a PM?


Graham, he's only posted once so PM-ing will be restricted until he ups his post count.

I'll send him a PM to let him know.


BumbleBee back:)
Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1666292
09/07/2023 12:55
09/07/2023 12:55
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
I cant pm too:( can we talk from phone Graham?) &#304; have ur gtec1 chip, my friend gifted me several years ago. But i heard that it should be mapped specific for my car and my countries fuel octane, and now i will put hybrid stage 1 turbo, bigger intercooler, i have complete supersprint exhaust, do i need gtec2 or gtec1 is enough for my car? And i m living in Turkey, in my country it tells fuel is 95 octane but when measured, it is 90 octane maximum. Gtec1 is for this fuel mapped? Tnx

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666306
09/07/2023 23:27
09/07/2023 23:27
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
If the fuel is only 90 RON you could add octane booster to every tank when you fill up, but otherwise I'd stick with the Gtec1 if it's running OK and spark plugs look OK, or even consider returning to the standard chip for safety especially with a hybrid turbo. Definitely wouldn't run a Gtec2 with 90 RON fuel, even with an uprated intercooler.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1666318
10/07/2023 11:34
10/07/2023 11:34
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
With hybrid turbo and bigger intercooler, which one is best? Gtec 1 or standard eprom?

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666323
10/07/2023 13:42
10/07/2023 13:42
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
And with gtec1 , hybrid turbo, how much hp i can get? And u recommend water spray kit for intercooler to get more hp ?

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666326
10/07/2023 15:20
10/07/2023 15:20
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 914
Drakelow
Jamiepm Offline
Club member 1989
Jamiepm  Offline
Club member 1989
Enjoying the ride

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 914
Drakelow
if you only have 90 RON fuel, I wouldn't run anything other than the original FIAT chip and use the Pierburg EBV.

With fuel so low in RON ratings the chance of pre ignition is high, pre ignition equals detonation and detonation equals broken ringlands on the piston (normally number 5 cylinder)

Albeit I appreciate this might not be cheap, but if possible get your car custom mapped, so that the fuel quality is factored into how the car runs, at least then you'll probably be safer than today


She's alive!
Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: Cagkan20vturbo] #1666328
10/07/2023 15:37
10/07/2023 15:37
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
Originally Posted by Cagkan20vturbo
With hybrid turbo and bigger intercooler, which one is best? Gtec 1 or standard eprom?


If you're prepared to add octane booster to every tank I'd use the Gtec1 and keep an eye on spark plug condition. If you're not using octane booster and the fuel is as low as 90 RON then I'd stick with the standard chip especially if using a hybrid turbo. And don't use a boost controller (either electronic or manual), let the ECU control boost via the EBV to retain the safety features allowing the ECU to retard the ignition in case of knocking.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1666356
11/07/2023 18:28
11/07/2023 18:28
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
I checked internet about octanes of fuel in Turkey.. our octane info is 95 octane and 97 octane , 2 options i can buy. U recommend 97 octane for me? And i m living near the sea, so google tells in my city octane is high:) so gtec1 or gtec 2 will be good for me with hybrid turbo? I will not use oem epeom i think with these octanes.. and how much hp i can get with this combinations? u recommend water spray kit for intercooler to get more hp ? Thanks.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666366
11/07/2023 22:55
11/07/2023 22:55
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
If the fuel is inconsistent then use the highest octane you can and consider using an octane booster.

Gtec1 will add around 20-30 bhp depending on other mod's and state of the turbo and EBV, Gtec2 maybe a little more but mostly it has more aggressive ignition advance low down hence it should only be used with an uprated intercooler for safety. If you're in any doubt about the consistency of the fuel octane then I would definitely not use a Gtec2 at all, especially in a hot climate like Turkey.

A hybrid turbo will add around 10-40bhp depending on the exact spec. and what boost you run it with.

Intercooler water spray I had on my first coupe and it didn't make much difference.The biggest difference it made was that people kept saying "Do you know you've got a leak at the front of your car there?" while pointing at the puddle. smile Maybe it would make more of a difference in a hotter climate than Scotland though smile

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666387
12/07/2023 19:44
12/07/2023 19:44
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
Hi again my friend, i have bigger intercooler. so if i use 95 octane with my hybrid stage 1 turbo with gtec1 chip, it will be perfect match? And probably 30-40 hp i can gain in total? And ur chip is suitable for Turkeys climate? My car also has complete exhaust with sport cat and sport headers..

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666388
12/07/2023 20:27
12/07/2023 20:27
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
If (and it's a big IF by the sound of it!) you can guarantee the RON of the fuel to always be at least 95 and you keep the boost at no more than 1.2 bar sustained with the standard turbo then a Gtec1 should be OK. But with a hybrid turbo and the very hot climate it would be risky if there's any doubt at all about the fuel quality, even with an uprated intercooler.

The safest thing would be to just use the standard chip, but if you really want to tune things then I'd get the fuelling checked properly on a rolling road or even better fit a wideband lambda sensor as was mentioned over on the other thread today, that way you can keep an eye on the fuelling yourself at all times. Maybe also fit en electronic boost controller so you could reduce boost as necessary if the AFR starts to lean out due to bad fuel and high intake temps.

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: GrahamL] #1666820
08/08/2023 04:11
08/08/2023 04:11
Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
C
Cagkan20vturbo Offline
Newbie
Cagkan20vturbo  Offline
Newbie
C

Joined: Aug 2022
Posts: 7
Ä°stanbul
Hi again my friend, how are u, i hope u are okay&#128522; i wanna ask u something, in my stage1 hybrid turbo, with gtec1 chip, in my turbo how many bar i can use ? 1.4 bar is okay? Or max 1.0 bar i should? My stock engine can be suitable for high bars or i should stay in 1.0 bar? &#304; attached manual boost controller and i can change the bar.. but which one is best option for me? Thanks alot..

Re: Gtec 1 fitted [Re: robcoupe20vt] #1666831
08/08/2023 18:41
08/08/2023 18:41
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
GrahamL Offline
Forum is my job
GrahamL  Offline
Forum is my job

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,163
Pothole City
I've replied to your PM. smile


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.33 Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 14 (0.012s) Memory: 0.8711 MB (Peak: 1.0483 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2023-12-09 15:57:15 UTC