Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Honza), 142 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums69
Topics113,562
Posts1,340,695
Members1,792
Most Online731
Jan 14th, 2020
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 33,533
stan 32,122
Theresa 23,297
PeteP 21,505
bockers 21,071
JimO 17,917
Nigel 17,367
Edinburgh 16,696
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Wiring up an ISO connector #27346
17/01/2006 05:39
17/01/2006 05:39
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,330
Leeds
phil_20VT Offline OP
Competition Level
phil_20VT  Offline OP
Competition Level

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,330
Leeds
Hello

Am after picking the brains of someone in the know with how to wire up an ISO connector .
Its not for my car it for the girlfriends, which is (dont laugh) a Daihatsu Coure .
The current head unit has a 12V+ AND A 12V memory. It appears to be using the ariel as an earth as it will only work with this plugged in.
At a guess the 12V+ would be ignithion on the iso, and the 12V memory would be the 12V battery on the iso. Could anyone confirm this to me, and also where i might take an earth from.
Feel like this is a bit of a simple one, but not something i fancy getting wrong!
Cheers for any help.

Phil


Re: Wiring up an ISO connector #27347
17/01/2006 06:35
17/01/2006 06:35
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
Phil

Yes you are correct. Take the earh from any exposed body metal part or look around for an earth point used by the ciggy lighter.

JOhn

Re: Wiring up an ISO connector #27348
17/01/2006 07:23
17/01/2006 07:23
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,330
Leeds
phil_20VT Offline OP
Competition Level
phil_20VT  Offline OP
Competition Level

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,330
Leeds
Nice one John cheers.

Was well annoyed something so simple initially defeated me.
I think im going to borrow a multi meter from work just to satisfy myself that i know exactly what im doing.
Just been doing a bit of looking about and it seems the only way i can cause a burnt down car is by having an open curcuit.


Re: Wiring up an ISO connector #27349
17/01/2006 07:41
17/01/2006 07:41

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



make sure you wire it up in phase though (+to+ and -to-) because it will sound crap if you mix them up.

Re: Wiring up an ISO connector #27350
17/01/2006 21:21
17/01/2006 21:21
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,330
Leeds
phil_20VT Offline OP
Competition Level
phil_20VT  Offline OP
Competition Level

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,330
Leeds
Cheers Craig

Can never work out which way the speakers are meant to go, just swap them till i get it the way that sounds best.


Re: Wiring up an ISO connector #27351
18/01/2006 03:17
18/01/2006 03:17

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



yeah.....try one, till it sonund right, then use the fade/ballance controls on the others, so you can hear them all induvidualy.


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.33 Page Time: 0.011s Queries: 13 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7618 MB (Peak: 0.8212 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2024-04-12 14:42:35 UTC