Fiat Coupe Forum
- Founded by Kayjey & James Northam
- Funded by the Club for the benefit of all owners
Fiat Coupe Club UK
join the club
Fiat Coupe Forum
 
» Announced
    Posting images


» Related sites
    Main club site
    fiatcoupe.net


» External data
    owners listed
 
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Edinburgh, gandolf), 183 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums69
Topics113,575
Posts1,340,851
Members1,796
Most Online731
Jan 14th, 2020
Top Posters(All Time)
barnacle 33,545
stan 32,122
Theresa 23,299
PeteP 21,509
bockers 21,071
JimO 17,917
Nigel 17,367
Edinburgh 16,728
RSS Feeds
Club Events
Club Information
Track Events
Rolling Road/RWYB
Social Events
Non-UK Events
Coupé Related Chat
Coupé Spotting
Coupé News/Press
Buying/Selling Advice
Insuring a Coupé
Basic FAQ's
How to Guides
Forum Issues
Technical Problems
General Maintenance
Styling
Tuning
Handling
ICE and Alarm
Coupés for Sale
Coupés Wanted
Parts for Sale
Parts Wanted
Group Buys
Business Forum
Other Vehicles for Sale/Wanted
Other Items for Sale/Wanted
Haggling/Offers
Ebay links
Other Cars
Other Websites
General Chat
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Ipod headunit #65489
05/03/2006 18:04
05/03/2006 18:04

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



Hi folks, a little help please.
Currently have an alpine unit connected to ipod, but the main problem is the function. Yoy can not fast search lists like you can with the ipod wheel, does anyone know if the new alpine units with the touch glide work like the wheel. I.E. the faster you glide the more songs it scrolls thru. At the minute the unit only searches thru one song/album/artist a second which is a pain in the ass with a large and varied music collection.
Cheers!

Re: Ipod headunit #65490
05/03/2006 20:18
05/03/2006 20:18

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



the latest alpines i am sure were updated so they would scroll nearly as quickly as the ipod itself, but the first glide bar head units i have seen were still really slow

Re: Ipod headunit #65491
05/03/2006 22:30
05/03/2006 22:30
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
bockers Offline
Hon Club Member 007
bockers  Offline
Hon Club Member 007
Forum Fossil

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,071
Chertsey in the Thames
A mate of mine had the glide bar alpine unit and sold it on as he hated it

Re: Ipod headunit #65492
06/03/2006 00:25
06/03/2006 00:25
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,877
Islington
S
strike4A Offline
My life on the forum
strike4A  Offline
My life on the forum
S

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,877
Islington
i've just fitted an alpine cde-9850ri full speed ipod unit and it works like a dream. only one pre-out though so might limit you depending on what setup you've got.

Re: Ipod headunit #65493
06/03/2006 02:03
06/03/2006 02:03
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,205
Oxfordshire
enfant_teribl Offline
My job on the forum
enfant_teribl  Offline
My job on the forum

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,205
Oxfordshire
I saw that Tom Tom have some new navigation units coming out, and they show it working with an iPod. With the big display, it looked pretty good.

New Tom Toms

Might be an alternative to think about.


Re: Ipod headunit #65494
06/03/2006 17:11
06/03/2006 17:11

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



I've just had a Harmon Kardon Drive+Play fitted. The controller mirrors the iPod controls and screen giving all the iPod info. It's easy to use without looking down at the controller, and I have the screen mounted on the far right of the dash, so it's easy to see.

Re: Ipod headunit #65495
06/03/2006 17:51
06/03/2006 17:51
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,033
I WANT F40
S
S1MMA Offline
Competition Level
S1MMA  Offline
Competition Level
S

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,033
I WANT F40
how much was that viro if you don't mind me asking?


Sideways a LOT
Re: Ipod headunit #65496
06/03/2006 18:20
06/03/2006 18:20
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,205
Oxfordshire
enfant_teribl Offline
My job on the forum
enfant_teribl  Offline
My job on the forum

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,205
Oxfordshire
Virobono - any pics. I had thought about that one too. Wondered what it looked like


Re: Ipod headunit #65497
06/03/2006 21:16
06/03/2006 21:16

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



Cost was £149.99 fitted - Halfrauds, but the fitter knows what he is doing and was recommended to me.

I'll take a pic or two tonight and post them.

Re: Ipod headunit #65498
08/03/2006 01:17
08/03/2006 01:17

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



virobono, nice one, I had forgotten all about that little gadget, but its another screen in addition to the smartnav but its defiantely an option., Cheers for the replies so far guys

Re: Ipod headunit #65499
13/03/2006 15:50
13/03/2006 15:50

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



Pics should be up tonight - moved recently and 5 working days for broadband seems to mean 6 weeks to BT!

Re: Ipod headunit #65500
14/03/2006 00:17
14/03/2006 00:17

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



Pics of the Drive+Play unit in my car. The iPod, incidentally, is in the glovebox, though it could be anywhere you choose. The only slight criticism I have is that the iPod doesn't power off with the head unit and D+P unit - it has to be unplugged and switched off manually.


Drive+Play 01

Drive+Play 02

Drive+Play 03

The curly cable and other wire is from my phone charger - the D+P cables are neatly hidden. No screws were used (though it's an option), so it can be easily removed without leaving holes.

Last edited by virobono; 14/03/2006 00:25.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1
(Release build 20190129)
PHP: 7.3.33 Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 13 (0.005s) Memory: 0.7821 MB (Peak: 0.8671 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2024-04-17 15:55:23 UTC